Goff, Files front row

Jack Goff's efforts earned Pyro a rare qualifying double © Jakob Ebrey

Team Pyro drivers Jack Goff and Josh Files will line up on the front row for this afternoon’s round 13 of the AirAsia Renault Clio Cup UK championship after a red-flag interrupted qualifying at Rockingham.

Goff, currently fifth in the championship standings, set a 1min 30.271secs time on his penultimate run of the 1.94mile circuit made up of sections of Rockingham’s banked oval circuit allied to a technical infield.

Files – tenth in the championship – was almost two tenths adrift of his team-mate, with under a second separating the top twelve qualifiers.

There were woes for championship lead Paul Rivett, whose Lumison BlueSquare Data / Stancombe Vehicle Engineering Clio cut-out whilst on track. The troubles were a double whammy for the two time champ, as today’s qualifying session sets the grid for tomorrow’s as well as today’s race. Rivett has his work cut out, as he will start this afternoon’s and tomorrow’s races from 16th position.

Rivett’s ranking on the grid gifts his rivals a benefit, with second in the points Aron Smith starting his Team Pyro car from fifth on the grid this afternoon and sixth position tomorrow. Third in the standings James Dixon starts from P4 today, and P3 on Sunday.

Race action at Rockingham starts at 16:15 this afternoon.

Round 13 top ten qualifiers
1. Jack Goff Team Pyro 1:30.271
2. Josh Files Team Pyro 1:30.458
3. James Colburn Westbourne Motorsport 1:30.597
4. James Dixon Total Control Racing 1:30.652
5. Aron Smith Team Pyro 1:30.653
6. Ant Whorton-Eales Scuderia Vittoria 1:30.715
7. Luke Wright Scuderia Vittoria 1:30.734
8. Jake Packun Get On Track Developments 1:30.810
9. Adam Bonham Team Pyro 1:30.875
10. Rob Boston JHR Developments 1:30.972

Round 14 top ten qualifiers
1. Jack Goff Team Pyro 1:30.383
2. James Colburn Westbourne Motorsport 1:30.616
3. James Dixon Total Control Racing 1:30.755
4. Josh Files Team Pyro 1:30.834
5. Luke Wright Scuderia Vittoria 1:30.860
6. Aron Smith Team Pyro 1:30.879
7. Jake Packun Get On Track Developments 1:30.953
8. Adam Bonham Team Pyro 1:30.959
9. Ant Whorton-Eales Scuderia Vittoria 1:30.990
10. Rob Boston JHR Developments 1:31.006

About AirAsia Clio Cup

Each season drivers come from around the United Kingdom and internationally to compete in the thrilling wheel-to-wheel racing that the Renault Clio Cup demands. The Championship continues to be the UK’s premier one-make saloon-car championship. Using race cars based on the road-going Clio Renault Sport 200, the Championship continues to be a breeding ground for future Touring Car drivers. As a prominent support race on the British Touring Car Championship platform and benefiting from live, comprehensive and new for 2011, HD TV coverage on the ITV sport network, it remains the most direct link to the BTCC. Almost one third of the current BTCC grid graduated from the ranks of Renault Clio Cup UK http://www.renaultsport.co.uk/championships/cliocup/Default.aspx
This entry was posted in 13 & 14 Rockingham and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s